Best Bar None Scotland National Awards 2011

The first ever Best Bar None Scotland Awards ceremony is due to take place on Sunday 6 March 2011 at the Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, Dundee.

The scheme now in its 7th year is sponsored by Diageo and The Scottish Government and is open to all on-license premises in participating areas.  It focuses on public safety and customer care and offers each venue an opportunity to demonstrate that it is committed to addressing important issues such as: Prevention of Crime and Disorder, Public Safety, Prevention of Public Nuisance, Promotion of Public Health, Protection of children from harm.

In the last 12 months 335 premises have been accredited in Scotland.  Thirty of these were nominated by their local coordinators as national finalists in the bar, pub, nightclub and specialist entertainment categories.  Representatives from each of these premises will attend the event where all nominated venues will receive a national finalist award.  The overall winner in each category will also receive individual awards recognising their achievement.

The event will also be attended by Kenny MacAskill, MSP, Cabinet Secretary for Justice in Scotland, John Letford, The Lord Provost of Dundee Alan Dobie, Executive Director of the Scottish Business Crime Centre and Mark Baird from the main sponsors Diageo.

G4S are sponsoring the nightclub category and Blackadders Solicitors are sponsoring the Pub category.

It is anticipated that the event will be attended by approximately 260 guests from throughout Scotland the majority of whom will be eagerly awaiting to see if they will be the first ever recipients of one of these national awards.

Alan Dobie said “The Best Bar None scheme is an excellent way of rewarding, recognising and promoting good practice in local licensed premises. The safety of people who visit licensed premises to enjoy themselves is of paramount importance and contributes to the night-time economy in Scotland in a very positive way.  I am delighted that we are recognising the best of the best at this gala event”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *